OUR HISTORY

Our story is based on an old Valais legend which found an unexpected end: Z' Johanneli is said to have been the first woman innkeeper on the Brigerberg in the 17th century. After closing time she secretly poured water into the wine barrel to increase her profit. When one evening a guest caught Johanneli red-handed, she was driven from the village. After that, no one ever saw her again. At that time it was said that she had to remain eternally as a lost soul in the glacial waters to atone for her grievous sin. But now that the glaciers are melting, z 'Johanneli is said to have been set free again. This is probably the reason why her wine is again available at the Treichweg at the foot of the Visperberg.

WINEGROWER PORTRAIT
  • About us

    Our long-standing family tradition in viticulture and the exceptional location in the highest vineyard in Europe are our cornerstones for producing wines full of character. We produce the traditional Valais wines by hand and combine them with the soul of old Valais legends. The Valais nature with its magnificent mountains, the overwhelming glaciers, the clear water and the eerie legends that are inherent in it serve as inspiration for us today. All this and perhaps even more makes the wine of the Johanneli Fi wine cellar something very special.

  • Highest vineyard in Europe

    Winegrowing in Visperterminen can look back on a long tradition.

    Surrounded by the highest mountains in Switzerland, Visperterminen is home to wine growing up to 1150 m above sea level - higher than anywhere else in Europe. 

     

    Very little rainfall, maximum sunshine and great differences between day and night temperatures are the characteristics of the local climate and nature's guarantee for fabulous wines.

    www.heidadorf.ch

  • The wine cellar in Visp

    A complete wine cellar carved into the rock -
    unique and fascinating.

    Here there are constant temperatures and a constant air humidity.

    These are ideal conditions for the production of genuine Valais wines full of character. The wine is aged partly in barrique and partly in steel barrels. A specially installed micro-oxygenation plant ensures a controlled oxygen supply to the wines. This binds colours to the tannins, invigorates the aromas and prevents sulphide aromas in white wines.

  • Winemakers with passion

    Even as children we were used to helping out in the vineyards on our days off, although not always with pleasure. At the time, I would never have imagined that this would one day become a passion. Only a course of studies in Wädenswil gave me the courage to take the vinification process into my own hands. Today we produce about 30,000 bottles a year. 10 years ago we were the first to plant a promising Merlot in the highest vineyard of Europe. Today we can proudly say that the Valais Merlot is in no way inferior to that from Ticino.

  • Nanztal alpine cheese

    The cow Albina, which belongs to our son, is kept in the stable of the farmer Herold Zimmermann in Visperterminen.

    She spends her summer days in Nanztal. Here a wonderful alpine cheese is produced with a lot of love and passion.

    The cheese matures in our mountain cellar for at least one year. This results in a very spicy planed cheese (Hobelkäse), which you can order here in our online shop and enjoy during a wine tasting.

Links

Online shop

Follow us on

E-newsletter

assemblage, glacier blossom dôle, walerhone assemblage, va grund to graat gewürztraminer, rollibock muscat, hölluwii dôle blanche, group program, valaisan say, valaisan added value, special offer, wine tasting, wine tasting, wine tasting, prices, book, reservation, holiday apartment, holiday studio, holiday at the winegrower, customer gift, added value, voucher, gift voucher, special offer, price advantage, menu of the month, wine recommendation, top chefs, food and wine, cooking recipe, wine cellar, wine drinking, wine pairing, on the tracks of johanneli fi, wine event, groups, association, event, company party, christmas party, company outing, event in the wine cellar, winemaker by passion, e-newsletter, multimedia, news, current, news, press, media reports, media articles, rebcam, webcam, pictures, videos, news, tasting table set, les trois fondues, swiss wine tourism prize, contact, address, contact form, inquiry, email write, contact, phone number, email address, z'matterhoru pinot noir, january winery, johanneli fi wine cellar, visp, visperterminen, upper valais wallis, winemaker, winery, gift idea

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

©2020 by Johanneli Fi Weinkeller, Treichweg 5, CH-3930 Visp ¦ T. 027 945 60 12 / 079 757 95 40 ¦ info[at]johanneli-fi.ch ¦ www.johanneli-fi.ch

Opening hours: Tuesdays and Thursdays from 4:30pm to 6:30pm and Saturdays from 9:00am to 12:00pm

Unsere Geschichte

Unsere Geschichte basiert auf einer alten Walliser Sage, welche ein unerwartetes Ende gefunden hat: Z’ Johanneli soll im 17. Jahrhundert die erste Wirtin auf dem Brigerberg gewesen sein. Nach Ladenschluss goss sie heimlich das Weinfass mit Wasser auf um ihren Gewinn zu steigern. Als eines Abends ein Gast Johanneli auf frischer Tat ertappte, wurde sie aus dem Dorf vertrieben. Darauf wurde sie nie mehr von jemandem gesehen. Damals hiess es, sie müsse ewig als verlorene Seele in den Gletscherwassern bleiben um ihre schwere Sünde zu büssen. Aber seit dem die Gletscher schmelzen soll z'Johanneli wieder frei gekommen sein. Wohl deshalb gibt es wieder ihren Wein am Treichweg am Fuss des Visperberges.

Winzer-Porträt
  • Über uns

    Unsere langjährige Familientradition im Rebbau und die aussergewöhnliche Lage im höchsten Weinberg Europas sind unsere Grundpfeiler, um charaktervolle Walliser Weine zu vinifizieren. Wir produzieren in Handarbeit die altbekannten Walliser Weine und verbinden diese mit der Seele alter Walliser Sagen. Die Walliser Natur mit ihren gewaltigen Bergen, den überwältigenden Gletschern, dem klaren Wasser und den schaurigen Sagen, die dem innewohnen, dienen uns heute als Inspiration. All das und vielleicht noch mehr, machen den Wein der Johanneli Fi Chälleri zu etwas ganz Besonderem.

  • Höchster Weinberg Europas

    Der Weinbau in Visperterminen kann auf eine lange Tradition zurückblicken.

     

    Umgeben von den höchsten Schweizer Bergen gedeiht in Visperterminen der Wein bis auf 1150 m ü. M. - so hoch wie sonst nirgends in Europa. 

     

    Sehr spärliche Niederschläge, eine maximale Sonnenbestrahlung und grosse Unterschiede zwischen Tages- und Nachttemperaturen sind die Charakteristiken des heimischen Klimas und von der Natur gegebene Garanten für sagenhaft-gute Weine.

    www.heidadorf.ch

  • Der Weinkeller in Visp

    Ein Weinkeller komplett

    in den Fels geschlagen -

    einzigartig und faszinierend.

    Hier herrschen konstante Temperaturen und eine stets gleichbleibende Luftfeuchtigkeit.

    Dies sind ideale Voraussetzungen für die Herstellung von echten und charaktervollen Walliser Weinen. Der Ausbau erfolgt teils im Barrique und teils im Stahlfass. Eine speziell eingerichtete Mikrooxigenationsanlage gewährt den Weinen eine geregelte Sauerstoffzufuhr. Dies bindet Farbstoffe an die Tannine, belebt die Aromastoffe und verhindert Böckseraromen bei Weissweinen.

  • Winzer aus Leidenschaft

    Schon als Kinder waren wir es gewohnt, wenn auch nicht immer mit Freude, an den freien Tagen in den Reben mitzuhelfen. Dass dies einmal zur Leidenschaft wird, hätte ich mir seinerzeit nie vorgestellt. Erst ein Studium in Wädenswil gab mir den Mut, die Sache mit der Vinifikation selber in die Hand zu nehmen. Heute produzieren wir jährlich rund 30'000 Flaschen. Vor 10 Jahren haben wir als Erste im höchsten Weinberg von Europa einen vielversprechenden Merlot angepflanzt. Heute können wir voller Stolz sagen, dass der Walliser Merlot dem aus dem Tessin in nichts mehr nachsteht. 

  • Nanztaler Alpkäse

    Die Kuh Albina, sie gehört unserem Sohn, ist im Stall vom Landwirt Herold Zimmermann in  Visperterminen untergebracht.

    Sie verbringt Ihre Sommertage im Nanztal. Hir wird ein wunderbarer Alpkäse mit viel Liebe und Leidenschaft produziert.

     

    Der Käse reift in unserem Bergkeller noch für mindestens ein Jahr. Daraus entsteht ein sehr würziger Hobelkäse, den Sie hier in unserem Onlineshop bestellen und während einer Weindegustation geniessen können.

Links

Onlineshop

Folgen Sie uns

E-Newsletter

©2020 by Johanneli Fi Weinkeller, Treichweg 5, CH-3930 Visp ¦ T. 027 945 60 12 / 079 757 95 40 ¦ info[at]johanneli-fi.ch ¦ www.johanneli-fi.ch

Öffnungszeiten: dienstags und donnerstags von 16:30 Uhr bis 18:30 Uhr und samstags von 9:00 Uhr bis 12:00 Uhr.